Rutgers University | URugby Bowl Series
Liberty Rugby Conference

Rutgers University


The Rutgers Rugby Football Club was founded in 1965. Rutgers is affiliated with the DI-AA Keystone Rugby Conference. The club is made up of about 90 Rutgers students from various athletic backgrounds. In the fall of 2017, Rutgers plays their first matches in the new Liberty Rugby Conference.

Rutgers played Stony Brook University at the 2016 Bowl Series at Iona College. 

Rutgers is a team on the rise, seeing success in 2015 spring sevens play including securing hardware at URugby Sevens Philadelphia with a 29-10 win over Drexel (see highlight video below). The team performed will through a tough Keystone Conference fall schedule highlighted by wins over Villanova and West Chester and near-wins vs St. Joes and Temple. They only allowed 54 total points in 4 conference matches this fall.

Rutgers played Southwest Conference champs University of North Texas at the 2015 ACRC Bowl Series.  

The 2014 Fall season saw Rutgers University as Bowl Champions in the Keystone Conference.